The Way of Awesome

Awesome! Oh wow! Like, totally freak me out!

The Way of Awesome

The what?

I spent a lot of time early this year reading productivity blogs and trying to Get Things Done, but I finally realized that what I needed wasn’t about productivity or frugality or to live joblessly or any one thing. What I needed was a simple question to ask myself in any given situation, something that cut through all of the bullshit and negotiating I seemed to be forever doing in my head.

The question I settled on is “What’s the awesome choice?” I know I got the idea from someone online a long time ago, but I hadn’t really thought about it until I went on vacation this year with my girlfriend. Any time we couldn’t make up our minds about what to do next, we chose the most awesome thing we could possibly do, and it made for a really incredible weekend. We went kayaking instead of just going home. We had lunch on the boardwalk instead of at a fast food restaurant. We hiked through the swamp instead of avoiding it for fear of mosquitos. We went back to the park the next day instead of going home early. Every single one of those decisions was a result of asking ourselves what was most awesome, and it really shook us both out of a rut where the default seemed to be to do what required the least effort or challenge, rather than what led to being more incredible.

Thinking this way sets me straight and helps me remember what’s important. The rules are very simple, and if you follow the links you’ll find a brief explanation of each:

Rule Zero: Assume you are awesome.

Rule One: Make the awesome choice.

Rule Two: Be awesome today, not tomorrow.

Rule Three: Be awesome to each other.

But wait, wasn’t this a blog about quitting your job?

…yeah, for a while it was. It’s not anymore; I took down those posts. I don’t know where I’m going to go with this, but for now it’s a place to stick stuff about the Way of Awesome. I’m done with talking about what I want to be and do at some point in the future. I just want to talk about what’s awesome right now.

1 Comment»

  Danielle wrote @

I love this. All of this.


Leave a Reply

